Lie and Lie Again

Everyone lies. And everyone lies for a reason.

I was upset last Saturday because of two things. First, because this creepy stalker won’t stop stalking. Second, because Mr. Awkward had a heart-to-heart with a girl. What’s with the lie?

Some people knew that I was upset. When they asked me why, I only told them reason number 1. Why couldn’t I tell them reason number two?

  1. I didn’t want to be judged as being clingy or assuming.
  2. We only have ‘sparks’.
  3. I could be over thinking.
  4. I felt insecure.
  5. I didn’t want to be interrogated because I don’t owe them an explanation.
  6. I’d look desperate.

So I only told people reason number one because I knew that they’d understand that, and that didn’t need any explanation.

While eating lunch last Sunday, a friend asked why Mr. Awkward looked problematic during the past few days. I only asked him why last Tuesday evening. And he said that he was alone during those times because his friends went food tripping without him. I wasn’t convinced because the reason sounded kind of off. Yeah, it’s sad that your friends went out without you, but I don’t think that that’s enough reason for someone to look really problematic. So when I told him that he just said that he’s moved on from his problem. Busted a lie, and he said that he’s moved on.

When people don’t want to talk about something:

  1. They say it directly.
  2. They say that they have moved on.
  3. They tell people not to worry about it.
  4. They change the topic.
  5. They don’t want to involve others, especially the one who asked.
  6. They say that they don’t know; they shrug.
  7. They lie.

We lie because we don’t want others to know the truth (obviously). We lie because sometimes we think that people would be more comfortable knowing the lie than knowing the truth.

Leave a Reply

